Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012-Part 1

Posted by on Jul 23, 2012 in SharePoint, SharePoint 2013, SQL 2012

I am sure there are a lot of you who are contemplating installing or have already installed SharePoint 2013 consumer preview, and with all the talk around the town, SharePoint 2013 raises the bar again on what SharePoint has to offer.

I can’t believe how time has flown and it was almost 3 years ago that I wrote my first blog post on Installing SharePoint 2010 beta on a Windows 2008 R2 Server.  Today will be the first of many blog posts on SharePoint 2013 so make sure you stay tuned as we begin a new adventure with the latest iteration of SharePoint.

In this two part series on installing SharePoint 2013 Consumer Preview, we will setup a 2 tier small farm topology and I will be using the latest bits offered by Microsoft to date.  Please note that SharePoint 2013 is still in beta form and this article is by no means a best practice approach.  It will take some time before we begin to nail the installation and configuration with regards to best practices which will surely develop over time.  This is merely a walk through on getting your testing and development environment up and running using a handful of Virtual or Physical Machines.

Articles in this series – Installing SharePoint 2013
The Environment

Please be aware that SharePoint 2013 requires some extra grunt above and beyond the system requirements for SharePoint 2010 and you can read more about both hardware and software requirements from the following Microsoft TechNet article; http://technet.microsoft.com/library/cc262485(office.15).aspx

The setup environment will comprise of the following;

  • Windows 2012 Server Release Candidate running Active Directory Domain Services (AD DS)
  • Windows 2012 Server Release Candidate running SQL 2012 RTM
  • Windows 2012 Server Release Candidate running SharePoint 2012 Consumer Preview
  • Windows 2012 Server Release Candidate running Exchange 2013 Consumer Preview
  • Windows 8 Consumer Preview Client running Office 2013 Consumer Preview
My setup is all virtual, and if resources are limited, you can easily install SharePoint 2013 Preview on a single server running both Active Directory and SQL for testing purposes.  The installation steps will be the same.
My SharePoint 2013 Testing Environment Setup

 

SP2013 Environment thumb Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

 

If you don’t have your Active Directory in place for your test environment, you can follow my step by step guide in Configuring Active Directory (AD DS) in Windows 2012.

Installing SQL 2012 RTM on Windows 2012 Server

As we don’t have any best practice guidelines, I will utilising a similar best practice approach when it comes to service accounts and installing SharePoint 2010 using the least privilege model.

For SQL, I have created an account in Active directory for the SQL Server Service Account. This should be a standard domain user account which will be used to run the MSSQLSERVER service on your SQL server. e.g. DOMAIN\sp_sql.  If you are installing from this account, this account will require Local Administrative Privileges.

So let’s begin the installation of SQL 2012 using our newly created SQL server service account.

Prerequisite

If you are like me and went ahead and installed SQL 2012 without installing .NET Framework 3.5 you will receive errors on failed components, notably, the Database Engine Services and Management Tools.

As noted in the Hardware and Software Requirements for Installing SQL Server 2012 MSDN article, .NET 3.5 SP1 is a requirement for SQL Server 2012 when you select Database Engine, Reporting Services, Replication, Master Data Services, Data Quality Services, or SQL Server Management Studio, and it is no longer installed by SQL Server Setup.  You will need to install this prior to install SQL 2012.

To do so, Navigate to the Server Manager Dashboard, , Click on Add roles and features and add the .NET 3.5 Features.

Select Role-based or feature-based installation option

image thumb50 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click Next

By pass the Select server roles screen by click Next.

In the Select features screen, select .NET Framework 3.5 Features.

image thumb35 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click Next and then Install.

If you receive the following warning, “Do you need to specify an alternate source path? Make sure your Windows 2012 media is mounted and ready.

image thumb36 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Once the .Net Framework 3.5 which include .NET 2.0 and 3.0 have been installed, we can proceed with the installation steps for SQL Server 2012.

Insert the SQL Server 2012 media and from the SQL Server Installation Center click on Installation;

image thumb37 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Then click on New SQL Server stand-alone installation or add features to an existing installation.

image thumb38 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click OK when the setup support rules have succeeded.

Enter your product key and click Next and then accept the License Terms and click Next again.

The installation will then check the internet for any product updates. Click Next or Skip.

You will then be greeted with the setup support rules page.  If all is OKAY, click next to proceed.

image thumb39 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

In the next screen, select your SQL Server Setup Role. In this instance, we are selecting SQL Server Feature Installation.

image thumb40 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click Next

Select the required features

image thumb41 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click Next

The Installation rules will then appear.  If the installation rules succeeded, click Next to continue.

In the Instance Configuration screen, keep Default Instance selected.

image thumb42 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click Next.

The Disk Space Requirements screen will then appear, hopefully confirming with a green tick.

image thumb43 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click Next.

Specify the SQL server service account that we had created earlier.

image thumb44 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click Next

In the Database configuration specify your SQL Server administrators, and make any changes to data directories as necessary.

image thumb45 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click Next

If you had selected the Reporting Services previously, you will be greeted with the below screen.  As we are installing Reporting Services SharePoint Integrated Mode, our only option is to Install only.

image thumb46 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click Next

The Error Reporting screen will then be displayed.

image thumb51 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

Click Next

The Installation Configuration rules will run and note any warnings or failures.

image thumb52 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

If everything is Ok, Click Next to proceed.

The below all familiar summary screen is displayed.  This is your last chance to double check your options and configuration.

image thumb53 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

If you are happy with the above, Click Install

You will eventually reach a screen saying that the installation was successful.

A few new tiles in relation to SQL will appear in the Windows 2012 Metro UI and you can launch SQL Management Studio to confirm a successful installation.

image thumb54 Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview on Windows 2012 Server with SQL 2012 Part 1 sql 2012 sharepoint 2013 sharepoint

 

This is the end of part 1 of a 2 part series on Installing SharePoint 2013 .  In part 2, will begin the installation of SharePoint 2013 Consumer Preview, so stay tuned and subscribe to this blog and join our Facebook page and Twitter Page to keep up to date and be notified of our latest articles.

If you require any assistance with your SharePoint or other IT needs, the team at GKM2 are happy to assist.  You can contact us via info@gkm2.com.au or 1300 797 288 within Australia.

 

Articles in this series – Installing SharePoint 2013
Technical Resources
  • Doug

    George, I wanted to comment here. When installing SQL 2012 SSRS to pair with SharePoint 2013, you cannot install SSRS during the SQL install BEFORE SharePoint 2013 is installed. Plus, SSRS and PowerPivot in SQL 2012 with SharePoint 2013 require you to use SQL 2012 SP1 CTP3 for the whole build. Plus, you have to follow their install order on TechNet (Install SQL DB, install SP2013 and psconfig, then install SSRS, PowerPivot, run configs). Read the readme in the SP1 CTP3 as there are lot of gotchas (cant upgrade to SP1, must fresh install, etc). Enjoy!

  • http://www.sharepointgeorge.com/ George Khalil

    Cheers Doug, thanks for the tips. To be honest, I haven’t even began to look at PowerPivot. That might just wait till SP2013 is in RTM and then I will revisit the docos.

  • Gary V

    Thank you for this article. The image under “Select the required features” shows most of the features needed, but I had to run through installation again and select “Add features to an exising instance of SQL Server 2012” and add Management Tools becuase I did not have “SQL Server Management Studio”.

  • Thanks!

    George I wanted to just say thanks for all you do for the SharePoint community. You have helped me out tremendously with your articles.

  • Oscar Bautista

    Excellent!